MBRN Committee

The MBRN executive committee comprises the following individuals, whose appointments were ratified in March 2020.

Chair: Dr Sariya Cheruvallil-Contractor (Assistant Professor, Coventry University)

Sariya is a Feminist Sociologist of Religion. She is Assistant Professor and Research Group Lead for Faith and Peaceful Relations at the Centre for Trust, Peace and Social Relations, Coventry University, UK. Her work lays particular emphasis on democratic research methodologies that work with and for research participants. She is the author of a number of publications relating to British Muslim Studies and inter-religious relations in Britain.

General Secretary: Dr Khadijah Elshayyal (University of Edinburgh)

Khadijah is an Associate Fellow at the University of Edinburgh specialising in contemporary British Muslim history, and also teaches at the Centre of Islamic Studies, Hamad bin Khalifa University, in Doha. Her research interests lie in the political and cultural activism, advocacy and representation of Muslims and other minorities in the UK. Her publications include Muslim Identity Politics: Islam, activism and equality in Britain (IB Tauris, 2020) and Scottish Muslims in Numbers: understanding Scotland’s Muslims through the 2011 Census (University of Edinburgh, 2016).

Committee Member: Dr Sufyan Dogra (Bradford University)

Sufyan is Senior Research Fellow at Bradford Institute for Health Research. He is an anthropologist researching lived experiences of Muslims and ethnic minorities in Britain. Currently, he explores ways to enhance physical activity and encourage healthy dietary habits for children by using mosques and madrassas in Britain. He did policy research at University of Reading on diversity in cemeteries and burials, and postdoctoral research on Shia Islam in Britain at the University of Chester.

Committee Member: Sadiya Ahmed (Everyday Muslim)

Sadiya founded Everyday Muslim Heritage and Archive Initiative in response to the lack of representation of the Muslim narrative in both archives and museums in Britain. To date there are three archive collections held at five archive depositories across London and the South-East. Alongside her experience of fundraising, project/event/exhibition planning and managing heritage projects, she has also negotiated collaborations and partnerships with museums, archives, academics, artists, media and community groups across Britain.

Committee Member: Dr Jawiria Naseem  (University of Birmingham)

Jawiria is an early career academic in Education and Social Justice at the University of Birmingham. She is particularly interested in the education and employment nexus and its impact on the life trajectories and experiences of Muslims and other minority ethnic groups in Western Europe. Her work notably builds on comparative research between France and the United Kingdom.

Committee Member: Dr Asma Khan (Sheffield University)

Asma is a postdoctoral research associate at Sheffield University and holds an honorary fellowship at the Centre for the Study of Islam in the UK, where she completed her PhD in 2018. Alongside her academic research experience, she has worked as a freelance research consultant on applied research projects for public and third sector organisations. Asma’s research interests include migration and ethno-religious inequalities in the labour market.

Previous Committee Members have included:

Chair: Professor Alison Scott-Baumann – Professor of Society and Belief, Department of Religions & Philosophies, SOAS

General Secretary: Dr Stephen Jones – Lecturer, Department of Theology and Religion, University of Birmingham

Committee Member:  Mobeen Butt – Director, Muslim Museum Initiative

Committee Member: Yahya Birt – Doctoral candidate, Theology and Religious Studies, University of Leeds

Committee Member: Dr Sadek Hamid – Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies, University of Oxford

Committee Member: Ayesha Khan – Centre for the Study of Islam in the UK, Cardiff University

Associate Committee Member: Dr Jawiria Naseem – Lecturer in Education & Social Justice, School of Education, University of Birmingham

Associate Committee Member: George Rawlinson – Doctoral candidate, Religions and Theology, University of Manchester


Chair: Professor Sophie Gilliat-Ray – Director, Centre for the Study of Islam in the UK, Cardiff University
General Secretary: Dr Carl Morris – Lecturer in Religion, Culture and Society, University of Central Lancashire (UCLAN)
Committee Mamber: Mobeen Butt – Director, Muslim Museum Initiative
Committee Member: Chris Moses – PhD candidate and Research Associate, University of Cambridge


Chair: Dr Sean McLoughlin – University of Leeds
General Secretary: Dr Marta Bolognani – University of Leeds


Chair: Prof Ron Geaves
General Secretary: M. A. Kevin Brice
Committee Member: Dr Lucy Michael
Committee Member: Dr Marta Bolognani
Committee Member: Tamjid Mujtaba
Co-opted Committee Members:
Dr Sophie Gilliat-Ray
Dr Sean McLoughlin